Five Stages is a 2014 Global Game Jam game about how the emotions you experience during times of loss can change the way you see the world. You can either get stuck in the cycle of grief or leave for good. We were inspired by how similarly we felt after our past relationships ended.

The game received a lot of great responses that ranged from smiles and laughter to feelings of awkwardness from people who learned something new about their partner. The aim of the game is to increase conversation about painful experiences in relationships and to show people that what they feel during these times is normal and universal.

Use your keyboard and mouse to play.


  • Catt Small: game design, code, art
  • Chris Algoo: game design, music & SFX
  • Asia Hoe: art, game design

More information

Published 360 days ago
Release date 3 years ago
AuthorCatt Small
Tags2D, Abstract, artgame, Dark, emotions, Experimental, Global Game Jam, Life Simulation, Short, Side Scroller
Average sessionAbout a half-hour
InputsKeyboard, Mouse